International Academy of
Quality and Safety (IAQS)

ISQua has established The International Academy of Quality & Safety (IAQS) to recognise distinguished individuals who have made a significant contribution in the field of Quality and Safety in Healthcare. The Academy recognises excellence of leadership within research, academia or service delivery in quality and safety in healthcare. Membership of the Academy is one of the highest honours that an individual working in this area can receive.

The 35 founding members of the IAQS were nominated and then elected by ISQua Experts and the Board in June 2018.

Membership of the Academy is for life.

Prof David Bates, President of ISQua from 2013-2015, will lead the Academy.

Academy Members

  • Rajesh Aggarwal, Professor of Surgery and Senior Vice President for Strategic Business Development and Innovation, Thomas Jefferson University, USA
  • Emmanuel Aiyenigba, Improvement Advisor, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, IHI
  • Ahmed Salim Al-Mandhari, WHO Regional Director, Regional Office Eastern Mediterranean, Oman
  • René Amalberti, Senior Advisor, Haute Authorité de Santé (HAS), France
  • Hugo Eduardo Arce, Physician, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • G Ross Baker, Professor and Program Lead, University of Toronto Master of Science in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, Canada
  • Paul Batalden, Emeritus Professor, Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice, Geisel School of Medicine, USA
  • David Bates, Medical Director of Clinical and Quality Analysis, Information Systems, Partners HealthCare System, Inc., Chief Division of General Internal Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, USA
  • Donald Berwick, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, USA
  • Jeffrey Braithwaite, Founding Director, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Australia
  • Mark William Brandon, Chief Quality Officer and Chief Policy and Regulatory Officer, Estia Health, Australia
  • Gilbert Benjamin Buckle, Public Health Physician/Consultant Health Systems Strengthening, Ghana
  • Mohambry Nadasen Chetty, Chair, Independent Practitioners Association Foundation, South Africa
  • Christine Dennis, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS), Australia
  • Sir Liam Donaldson, Professor of Public Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
  • Michael Anthony Durkin, Senior Advisor on Patient Safety and Leadership, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Ezequiel Garcia Elorrio, Director of Quality in Health Care and Patient Safety, Institute for Clinical Effectiveness and Health Policy (IECS), Argentina
  • Carsten Engel, Deputy Chief Executive, IKAS (Danish Institute for Quality and Accreditation in Healthcare), Denmark
  • Tejal Gandhi, Chief Clinical and Safety Officer, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, USA
  • Carlos Hiran Goes De Souza, International Accreditation Manager, CHKS; Founder Accreditation Pathways Institute, United Kingdom
  • Michael William Gorton AM, Principal, Russell Kennedy Lawyers, Australia
  • David Greenfield, Director, Australian Institute of Health Service Management, Australia
  • Trish Greenhalgh, Professor of Primary Care Health Services, Nuffield Departement of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, UK
  • Elma Heidemann, Healthcare Consultant, Former CEO of Accreditation Canada, Canada
  • John Helfrick, Senior Consultant for Partners Healthcare International, USA
  • Clifford Frederick Hughes, Professor of Patient Safety and Clinical Quality, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Yuichi Imanaka, Professor and Head, Department of Healthcare Economics and Quality Management, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Brian William Johnston, Health and Social Care Services Consultant, Australia
  • Janne Lehmann Knudsen, Danish Safety Authority, Denmark
  • Uma Kotagal, Professor of Pediatrics, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, USA
  • Basia Kutryba, Senior Advisor, National Centre for Quality Assessment in Healthcare, Ministry of Health, Poland
  • Lucian Leape, Adjunct Professor of Health Policy, Harvard School of Public Health, USA
  • Sheila Leatherman, Professor, University of North Carolina , Gillings School of Global Public Health, USA
  • Tingfang Liu, Professor, Institute for Hospital Management, Tsinghua University, China
  • M. Rashad Massoud, Chief Medical and Quality Officer/ Senior Vice President University Research Co., LLC’s Quality and Performance Institute, Director, USAID Applying Science to Strengthen and Improve Systems (ASSIST) Project
  • David Mayer, Executive Director, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety, CEO, Patient Safety Movement, USA
  • Takeshi Morimoto, Professor of Medicine, Department of Clinical Epidemiology, Hyogo College of Medicine, Vice-Director, Center for Clinical Research and Education, Japan
  • Fiona Moss, Dean, Royal Society of Medicine, UK
  • David Nash, Dean, Jefferson College of Population Health, Thomas Jefferson University, USA
  • Eugene Nelson, Professor, Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice, Geisel School of Medicine, USA
  • Wendy Nicklin, Board Member, Health Insurance Reciprocal of Canada
  • Ronald Kim Oates, Emeritus Professor, University of Sydney School of Medicine, Australia
  • Bhupendra K Rana, Founding CEO, Quality and Accreditation Institute (QAI), India
  • Laetitia Rispel, Professor of Public Health, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Enrique Ruelas, President and CEO, Qualimed, Mexico
  • William Ben Runciman, Chief Investigator, NH&MRC Program, Centre for Research Excellence Grants, Australia
  • Aziz Sheikh, Professor of Primary Care R&D, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Sodzi Sodzi-Tettey, Executive Director and Head, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Africa Region, Ghana
  • Jacqui Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, The Council for Health Service Accreditation of Southern Africa NPC, South Africa
  • Maria Rosa Sunol Sala, Professor Doctor, President of the Board of Trustees Avedis Donabedian Institute (FAD) – Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain
  • Shin Ushiro, Professor, Kyushu University Hospital, Japan Council for Quality Health Care, Japan
  • Charles Vincent, NIHR Senior Investigator, Emeritus Professor Clinical Research, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
  • Albert Wu, Professor and Director, Center for Health Services Outcomes and Research, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA
  • Jennifer Zelmer, President, Azimuth Health Group, Canada
  • Eyal Zimlichman, Deputy Director General, Chief Medical Officer and Chief Innovation Officer, Sheba Medical Center, Israel

Become An ISQua Member Today

ISQua members get exclusive access to the latest health care studies, advanced global conference admission and an unrivalled selection of online resources